Hello everyone,
For those of you who might occasionally purchase photos of Fay Wray
from eBay sellers, a word of caution. Please be extra-careful when
bidding on items sold by "livesformovies". Read on.
First of all, I *have* had a good buying experience
from "livesformovies" in the past, so not everything they offer is
questionable. But lately they've been offering a lot of photos
(generally titled "Fay Wray RARE photo" or similar). A great many of
them were simply taken from my Fay Wray site and professionally
printed on photo paper. You can do this at home yourself, folks.
Imagine my shock and utter bewilderment when I received a photo I had
won in auction from "livesformovies" only to discover that it was *my
own scan* (clearly identifiable by several instances of debris
introduced at the scanning stage) that I'd just purchased! The seller
DID give me a refund, but please, if browsing their offerings, see if
the photo is on the Fay Wray site first before paying them money for
something I give you for free. Use caution.
As long as I'm talking eBay, if anyone ever wants to bid on a Fay
Wray autographed item on eBay but the authenticity is in doubt, go
ahead and post here to the list. I'm a rather good judge of the
authenticity of her autograph, if I do say so myself. It's better to
ask than be ripped off by a scam artist.
And since I've hardly said anything to the list in quite a long time,
hello, happy holidays, and yes, one of these days I hope to update
the site with a HUGE backlog of material. I have a book deadline in
April, and hope to conclude my present bout of schooling in May, so
keep hoping for an update in the summer. I've added a "Fay Wray
Store" to the site just recently (access it here:
http://astore.amazon.com/shillpages ) - everything purchased there
helps me cover the costs of my website, and you're buying from
amazon.com, one of the most reliable retailers in existence. Go
ahead, treat yourself to a holiday gift!
-Steve